There are a couple of different approaches that states take when it comes to prosecuting theft crimes. In one approach, the simpler approach, the unlawful taking of any type of property from another person is considered theft, and the charge is usually a felony. This applies no matter what the property is or what the property's value is. However, another approach is to break down the charges based on the value of the property that was alleged to have been stolen. This is the approach taken in Kentucky.
So, what is the range of penalties associated with a theft charge in Kentucky? Well, the law begins with the basic presumption that the unlawful taking of any property is a Class A misdemeanor. A Class A misdemeanor is the highest level of misdemeanor charge, which means that the potential penalty goes up to 12 months in jail, with a minimum of 90 days. A fine of $500 could also be levied.